Skip to main content

About the Chair

Greg RouanGregory Rouan, MD, the seventh Gordon and Helen Taylor Professor of Medicine, is a 1980 graduate of the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and an alumnus of the University of Cincinnati residency program. In addition, he was a Kellogg Fellow at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard University.

Rouan joined the University of Cincinnati faculty in 1983 and was appointed professor of clinical medicine in 1995 and served as the Richard W. and Sue P. Vilter Professor of Medicine from 1999-2012. He was named the permanent chair of Internal Medicine in 2012 after serving a seven-month appointment as interim chair of the department.

Currently, Rouan serves as one of nine board members of the UC Health Board of Trustees, and is a past governor-elect of the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Physicians.

The holder of a number of awards of excellence, including the 2010 Courage to Teach Award from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), Rouan has been named a “Top Doc” in Cincinnati, and has been recognized as one of the "Best Doctors in America" for twenty consecutive years. An education endowment established in his name supports medical education in the Department of Internal Medicine.

His vision for the Department of Internal Medicine is to continue a long-standing tradition of improving the health of our local and global communities based upon our tripartite mission. Rouan maintains a clinical practice in internal medicine and has a passion for teaching which inspires medical students and residents.

Directory Search

Contact Us

Department of
Internal Medicine

Medical Sciences Building Room 6065
231 Albert Sabin Way
PO Box 670557
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0557

Phone: 513-558-4231
Fax: 513-558-0852