Skip to main content
Research / Recognition / Faculty-to-Faculty Mentoring Award

Faculty-to-Faculty Mentoring Award

Mentoring among faculty at UC College of Medicine is a crucial element in sustaining a vital faculty community, promoting faculty development and increasing faculty retention. The purpose of the CoM Faculty-to-Faculty Mentoring Awards is to recognize the outstanding efforts of one clinical and one basic science faculty member for their mentorship of other faculty members. This award is designed to recognize faculty-to-faculty mentoring not faculty-to-student/trainees mentoring. 
These prestigious awards acknowledge the time sacrifice and dedication faculty mentors devote to foster the career development and academic success of colleagues in the areas of research, education, service and clinical practice. Exceptional mentoring can include offering advice, feedback and guidance on research activities, coaching on work-life balance issues, providing professional opportunities for faculty mentees, and/or assisting in development of teaching skills. The award recipients will receive an honorarium of $1,000 and commemorative plaque. 
Nomination Requirements
•     Nomination may come from faculty, Department Chair, and/or Division Director. 
•     Please include a one page letter stating why the nominee is deserving of recognition. A bulleted format is preferred. 
•     If more than one person is interested in nominating a candidate, please enclose a list of faculty who endorse the nomination. 
•     Nominee’s CV.
Note: Those who were nominated for the VPR/Provost Mentoring Award in February 2022 do not need to resubmit. These nominees will be considered for this award as well. Nominees may choose to amend their previously submitted nomination by the deadline. 
•     Full-time faculty members with an official CoM academic appointment are eligible to be nominated. Unfortunately, faculty at CCHMC and the VA are not eligible to apply.
•     Previous Faculty-to-Faculty Research Mentoring Awardees (either VPR/Provost or CoM) are not eligible. 
Selection Criteria
•     A demonstrated commitment to fostering the intellectual, creative, scholarly, and professional growth of their faculty mentees so that they may function effectively and with measurable success at UC and at the national/international level.
•     Evidence of sustained commitment to a professional mentoring relationship that results in career growth or personal development of mentees.
•     An overall track record of mentoring and service to the faculty.
Nomination Deadline
Nominations should be submitted as one pdf by 8am on Monday, May 2, 2022 via online form. No late nominations will be accepted. The 8am deadline allows our faculty the opportunity to utilize the weekend if needed. 
For questions, please contact Brieanne Sheehan.  


Previous Awardees Include:

  • 2020 Provost/VPR awardee: Jeffrey R. Strawn, MD, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience
  • 2021 CoM Basic Science Awardee: Laura Conforti, PhD, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
  • 2021 CoM Clinical Awardee: Carl J. Fichtenbaum, MD, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Infectious Disease
  • 2022 Provost/VPR awardee: Sakthivel Sadayappan, PhD, MBA, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Health and Disease

Contact Us

University of Cincinnati
College of Medicine

CARE/Crawley Building
Suite E-870
3230 Eden Avenue
PO Box 670555
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0555

Mail Location: 0555
Phone: 513-558-7333
Fax: 513-558-3512
Email: College of Medicine