Today is Tuesday, Sep. 17, 2019

Department of

Pathology and Laboratory Medicine


Medical Director: Dr. Shagufta Khan
Cytopathologists: Drs. Douglas Johnson, Sreeharsha Masineni, Jiang Wang, Huaitao Yang

The Cytopathology Division functions as a sub-division of anatomic pathology. The division also participates actively in teaching residents multiple times during their residency and 3rd year medical students during their clerkship. We are actively engaged in quality improvements through internal changes and quality improvement projects by rotating residents. We are preparing to launch an inpatient fine needle aspiration service in October 2016.  

The cytopathology laboratory works with Microbiology for HPV DNA testing and CT-NG testing. All cytopathology specimens are processed in the cytopathology division of the anatomic pathology laboratory. The departments comply fully with CAP recommendation of quality assurance and proficiency testing. Annually we receive 10,000 gynecologic smears, almost 2000 fine needle aspiration biopsy specimens and about 4000 exfoliative non-gynecologic cytology specimens from different sites of UC Health. 

The staff consists of three cytotechnologists out of which senior cytotechnologist Sherry Reppert-Couch and Jamie Buchsbaum are stationed at UCMC and the third cytotechnologist Joanna Salisbury is stationed at West Chester Hospital. All cytopathologist and cytotechnologists work in close collaboration with multiple clinical departments including pulmonology, interventional radiology and GI endoscopy. Our cytotechnologists are proficient in providing on site adequacy assessment for all departments mentioned above and ultrasound guided procedure in outpatient clinics at Hoxworth.