Skip to main content
Departments / Neurosurgery / Education / Goodyear Microsurgery Training Lab

Goodyear Microsurgery Training Lab

The Goodyear microsurgery laboratory was established by the departments of Neurosurgery and Otolaryngology in collaboration with the College of medicine in 1986. It became operational in 1987. Harry vanLoveren, M.D. and Jeffrey T. Keller, Ph.D. served as co-directors. During the ensuing years, the laboratory trained more than 50 research and clinical fellows, while becoming an integral part of the curricula for neurosurgery residents at the University of Cincinnati. The scholar productivity resulting from their efforts as well as other members of the faculty includes more than 200 publications, a two-volume Atlas of operative micro neurosurgery, greater than a hundred training and teaching programs conducted locally, nationally and internationally, and numerous presentations at local, national and international meetings. The skull base program and the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Cincinnati have achieved national and international recognition as a result of those efforts. Work produced at the Goodyear Laboratory continues to be recognized as seminal, and neuroanatomical descriptions as well as surgical techniques developed or perfected at the Goodyear Lab are currently in use in operating rooms around the world.

The legacy of the Goodyear Laboratory is best represented by its alumni, which include highly regarded surgeons, many of which have become world leaders in skull base surgery. The distinguished list of alumni from the Goodyear Laboratory speaks for itself, and includes:

1990-1991 Magdy EI-Kalliny, M.D.Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
1991-1992 Patricia Fernandez, M.D.University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
1992-1993 Kenneth Reichert, M.D.Medical College of Wisconsin
1992-1993 Murali Guthikonda M.D.University of Vermont, Burlington, VT
1993-1994 Alain Bouthillier, M.D.Université de Montréal, Montreal, Canada
1994-1995 Michael O'Sullivan, M.D.University of Edinburgh, UK
1994-1995 Samy Rosenblatt, M.D. Northwestern University, Chicago, IL
1995-1996 Shih Sing Liu, M.D.Barrow Neurological Institute, Phoenix, AZ
1995-1996 Sumeer Sathi, M.D.Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
1996-1997 Michael Tauber, M.D. Polytechnic Medical School, Haifa, Israel
1996-1997 Gary Zimmermann, M.D.Cornell University, New York, NY
1997-1998 Michael Chicoine, M.D.Washington University, St. Louis, MO
1997-1998 Michael Link, M.D. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
1998-1999 Abhay Sanan, M.D. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
1999-2000 Khaled Aziz, M.D.Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
1999-2000 George Bovis, M.D. Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
2000-2001 Walter Jean, M.D. University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
2001-2002 Khaled Aziz, M.D., Ph.D. Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
2002-2003 A. Samy Youssef, M.D., Ph.D.Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
2000-2001 Ali Nader-Sepahi, MB, BS, FRCSUniversity of Southampton, Southampton, UK
2001-2003 Norberto Andaluz, M.D.Sanatorio Parque, Rosario, Argentina
2003-2004 Leo Salud, M.D.St. Luke's College of Medicine, Quezon City, Philippines
2004-2005 Hirofumi Nakatomi, M.D. Fuji Brain Insitute and Hospital, Fujinoyima, Japan
2004-2006, Chiraz Chaalala, M.D.Université de Montréal, Montréal, Canada
2005-2006 Sebastien Froelich, M.D.University of Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France
2006-2007 Bharat Guthikonda, M.D.Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
2007-2009 Robert Kerr M.D., Ph.D.University of Alberta School of Medicine, Alberta, Canada
2012-2013 Amjad Anaizi, M.D.Georgetown University, Washington, DC
1993-1994 Hiroshi Wanifuchi, MDTokyo Women's Medical College, Tokyo, Japan
1993-1994 Seong-Hoon Oh, MDHanyang University, Seoul, South Korea
1997-1998 Jae Min Kim, MDHanyang University, Kuri, South Korea
1997-1998 Alberto Romano, MDMessina University, Messina, Italy
1997-1999 Khaled Aziz, MDAin-Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
1998-1999 Rashid Janjua, MDUniversity of Leiden, The Netherlands
1999-2000 Sebastien Froelich, MDUniversity of Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France
2001-2003 Eun-Young Kim, MD Inha University, lnchon Korea
2005 Federica Beretta, MDOspedale Niguarda Ca’Grande, Milan, Italy
2009 Juan Carlos de Battista, MDDepartment of Neurosurgery, Lariboisière Hospital, Paris
2011 Almaz Kurbanov, MDUludağ Üniversitesi, Bursa, Turkey
2011 Helen Cebula, MD Department of Neurosurgery, Lariboisière Hospital, Paris
2013 Pavel Poczos, MD Department of Neurosurgery, Lariboisière Hospital, Paris
2014 Almaz Kurbanov, MDUludağ Üniversitesi, Bursa, Turkey
2015 Eleonora Marcati, MD Department of Neurosurgery, Lariboisière Hospital, Paris
2015 Alberto DiSomma, MDUniverista degli Studi Federico II, Naples, Italy
2016 Aurel Hasanbelliu, MDUniversity of Verona, Italy
2016 Franklin Lima, MD Sao Paulo, Brazil
2016 Beatrice Boido, MD Univerista degli Studi Federico II, Naples, Italy
2017 Alejandro Mercado, MDHospital Militar Central, Buenos Aires, Argentina
2018 Dmitro Zhebrykov, MD Shupyk National Medical Academy, Kiy, Ukraine
2019 Alesana Slobodyan, MDShupyk National Medical Academy, Kyiv, Ukraine
2019 Ivanna Nebor, MD Bogomolets National University, Kyiv, Ukraine
2019 Oleksandra Kashyrina, MDInternational Neurosurgical Center, Kyiv, Ukraine
2019 Mykhailo Lovga, MDVolyn Regional Pediatric Clinical Hospital, Lutsk, Ukraine
2019 Andriy Polishchuk, MDInternational Neurosurgical Center, Kyiv, Ukraine
2020 Ahmed Hussein, MD Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
2022 Paolo Palmisciano, MDUniversity of Catania, Italy
2022 Samer Hoz, MD University of Baghdad, Iraq

Research Fellowship

Fellowships in research within the Goodyear Lab are available. Qualified candidates are encouraged to apply for a research fellowship in the Goodyear Lab .

Under the guidance of one of the research mentors, the fellow will lead anatomical research project(s) from their design until their completion.

Those interested in learning more information about the research fellowship are directed to contact Kathi Smith, Senior Research Assistant at


The Goodyear Laboratory has also served as a training facility for medical device and instrument companies. Formally known as Neurosurgery 101, more than one hundred courses have been taught to physicians, sales representatives, and staff.


If you would like to support the research and development of cutting-edge technology in the microsurgical care and cure of patients with skull base tumors, you can Make a Gift.

Directory Search
Intranet Login

Contact Us

Department of

231 Albert Sabin Way
PO Box 670769
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0515

Mailing Address
University of Cincinnati
College of Medicine
Department of Neurosurgery
PO Box 670515
Cincinnati Ohio 45267-0515