Skip to main content
Education / MSTP / Program Leadership/Staff

Program Leadership and Staff

Program Director

Gurjit Khurana HersheyGurjit Khurana Hershey, MD, PhD

BS: University of Iowa, 1985 
PhD: Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, 1990 
MD: Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, 1992

After completing pediatric residency and an allergy/immunology fellowship at St. Louis Children’s Hospital, Dr. Hershey joined the faculty at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Her research is focused on identifying the genetic and environmental factors that promote asthma pathogenesis and dissecting the mechanisms by which they confer risk.Aside from serving as director of the Medical Scientist Training program, she directs the the Division of Asthma Research at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. 

Associate Directors

Rocky EllisRocky Ellis, MD
Graduate & Medical Studies

BS: University of Cincinnati, 1997
MD: University of Cincinnati,
College of Medicine, 2002

Dr. Ellis is Board Certified in Family Medicine and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians. He has a strong interest in medical education and is the Family Medicine Clerkship Director. As part of the MSTP, he coordinates academic and specialty choice advising.

Michael JankowskiMichael Jankowski, PhD 
Admissions & Recruitment

MS: Neuroscience, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, 2003
PhD: Neurobiology, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, 2006
Postdoctoral Training: University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, 2006-2010

Dr. Jankowski is the Theodore W. Striker, MD Chair in Anesthesia Research in the Department of Anesthesia, Division of Pain Management at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. His research focuses on the peripheral mechanisms of nociceptive processing across the lifespan under normal and pathological conditions.  He also serves as the Director of Research for the Department of Anesthesia and is Associate Director for Basic Science Research for the Center for Understanding Pediatric Pain at Cincinnati Children’s.

Kathryn WikenheiserKathryn Wikenheiser-Brokamp, MD, PhD 
Curriculum Development

BS: University of Mary, 1988
PhD: University of Cincinnati, 1994
MD: University of Cincinnati, 1996

Following her residency at the Washington University Hospital in St. Louis, Dr. Wikenheiser-Brokamp returned to her alma mater as an Assistant Professor in the divison of Pediatric Pathology. Her research interests focus on pediatric and adult lung diseases. As part of the MSTP, she focuses on curriculum and professional development opportunities for students.

Senior Physician Scientist Advisor Program Directors

Melanie CushionMelanie Cushion, PhD
Co-Director, SPS Advisor Program
Senior Associate Dean for Research, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Professor, University of Cincinnati

BS: St. Joseph’s College
PhD: St. Thomas Institute
Fellowship: University of Cincinnati College of Medicine

Dr. Cushion serves as professor of Internal Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Research at the UC College of Medicine. Dr. Cushion oversees all research areas, core research facilities, and doctoral training programs within the medical school. She presides over the College of Medicine Research Council and works closely with research leadership across the university and its clinical and research partners. Dr. Cushion’s laboratory focuses on fungi in the genus Pneumocystis and pre-clinical drug development.

Hector R. WongHector R. Wong, MD
Co-Director, SPS Advisor Program
Vice Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Professor, University of Cincinnati

MD: University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, 1989

Dr. Hector R. Wong is a Professor of Pediatrics at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center and the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. He served as the Director of Critical Care Medicine at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center and the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Research Foundation from 1998 to 2020. He is currently the Vice Chair, Department of Pediatrics. His research program is focused on sepsis and spans the spectrum from laboratory-based research to translational research. 

Program Staff

Jennifer Rindler FridrichJennifer Rindler Fridrich, MBA

Program Director

Jenny received her Bachelor of Business Administration, specialization in marketing from The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business.  She has experience in program administration and development at academic medical centers.  After working for a few years, she returned to Ohio State and earned her MBA through the Working Professionals MBA program at the Fisher College of Business.  Today she manages the MSTP office including program recruitment, finance and daily operations.

Sara CohenceSara Cohen

Program Coordinator

Sara received her Bachelor of Science in Business from the Indiana University Kelley School of Business, graduating with highest distinction with a major in marketing and minors in theatre and dance.  She brings an eclectic background with seven years of marketing and advertising experience working in account/client service and project management.  Today, she serves as the Program Coordinator for the MSTP, planning events and handling day-to-day communications and operations.

Contact Us

Medical Scientist
Training Program

Medical Sciences Building
231 Albert Sabin Way
PO Box 670552
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0552

Mail Location: 0552