Skip to main content
Poster Event

Graduate Student Research Forum 

The Graduate Student Research Forum is an annual scientific event hosted by the College of Medicine Office of Research and Graduate Education, the Committee on Graduate Education and the Health Sciences Graduate Association.

All graduate students in the College of Medicine are invited to submit a five minute presentation.  At it's conclusion, the presenter meets with two judges in a "Question & Answer" Zoom room.

The posters are judged by faculty and postdoctoral assistants and awards are given to the students with the highest scores.

Laura E O'DellA keynote speaker is invited by and voted on by the students. The speaker who receives the most votes is invited to attend.   This year's speaker was
Steven Salzberg, Director, Center for Computational Biology at Johns Hopkins University.  His talk was on “Completing the Human Gene Catalog and the Human Genome: How much are we missing?". In conjunction with this event, the Richard Akeson Award for Excellence in Graduate Education is presented to a faculty member who best exemplifies outstanding graduate teaching and mentoring. This year's Akeson Award winner was Dr. Leah Kottyan.

Faculty are nominated by the students, and the faculty member who receives the most votes is presented with the award during the awards ceremony. 

2021 Winners - Years 4-5

​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​
Feni KadakiaNeuroscienceDr. Steve Davidson1st
Johnny DonovanCancer and Cell BiologyDr. Tanya Kalin 2nd
Kendall MartinMolecular Genetics, Biochemistry & MicrobiologyDr. Joshua Waxman3rd
Emma SchochMolecular Genetics, Biochemistry & MicrobiologyDr. Rhett Kovall3rd
Benjamin WeinhausImmunologyDr. Daniel Lucas3rd
Ian MersichCancer and Cell BiologyDr. Biplab DasGuptaHM
Hannah Meibers ImmunologyDr. Chandrashekhar PasareHM
Hasan RezaMolecular & Developmental BiologyDr. Takanori TakebeHM

2021 Winners - Years 1-3

​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​
Hilal CevikMolecular & Developmental BiologyDr. Stephen Waggoner1st
Julianna KornsCancer and Cell BiologyDr. Vinita Takiar2nd
Angela CannataImmunologyDr. Ian Lewkowich3rd
Vanessa TurksonMolecular, Cellular & Biochemical PharmacologyDr. David Hui3rd
Wenqi LiImmunologyDr. Jorge Bezerra HM
Elizabeth OdegardPathobiology & Molecular MedicineDr. Jason BlackardHM
Laura CanadayImmunologyDr. Stephen WaggonerHM
Pablo AlarconImmunologyDr. Senad DivanovicHM
Anthony GloriusSystems Biology and PhysiologyDr. James HermanHM
Tiffany DuongMolecular Genetics, Biochemistry & MicrobiologyDr. Joshua WaxmanHM
Kierra WareMolecular Genetics, Biochemistry & MicrobiologyDr. Agnes LuoHM

Contact Us

Office of
Graduate Education

Medical Sciences Building
Suite 1055
231 Albert Sabin Way
PO Box 670548
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0548

Mail Location: 0548
Phone: 513-558-7341