Today is Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019

Department of

Cancer Biology

The William J. Larsen Distinguished Lecture

About William J. Larsen, Ph.D.

William J. Larsen, Ph.D. was a gifted scientist, consistently producing research at the forefront of cell, developmental and reproductive biology. Early in his career, he published a landmark paper that conclusively established mitochondrial fission as the mechanism of mitochondrial biogenesis. He went on to become the first to demonstrate the endocytosis of gap junctions. Moreover, his work on the hormonal regulation of gap junction formation and growth culminated in an authoritative review article in Tissue and Cell "Structural Diversity of Gap Junctions (1988)", which became a Citation Classic. Throughout his career, his sixty-seven peer-reviewed publications; not to mention numerous invited reviews, abstracts and book chapters, covered a wide range of research areas including adrenal cortical tumor cells, human ovarian carcinomas, preterm labor, cumulus expansion, oocyte maturation, ovulation, folliculogenesis and in vitro fertilization.

In addition to his many contributions to basic research, Bill Larsen loved to teach and was much appreciated by his students. His exceptional ability was reflected in the four teaching awards he received as a professor at the University of Cincinnati. Notably, he was the author of Human Embryology, a textbook for medical students that was the first to incorporate modern experimental research into a subject that had traditionally been taught in a strictly descriptive style. On its initial publication in 1998, it was hailed as "a magnificent book . . ." by the European Medical Journal. With the release of the fourth edition in 2008, the book was renamed Larsen's Human Embryology in recognition of Dr. Larsen's place as the originator of this revolutionary text.

Coming March 26, 2020
Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D.
Professor of Cancer Biology in Medicine
Medicine/Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center, 
Weill Cornell Medicine, New York City, New York

March 28, 2019
Beth Levine, M.D.
Charles Cameron Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science
UT Southwestern Medical Center

September 13, 2018
Benjamin G. Neel, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center
NYU Langone Health

March 9, 2017
Joan S. Brugge, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Harvard Medical School

May 19, 2016
Stephen J. Weiss, M.D.
Upjohn Professor of Medicine and Oncology
Research Professor, Life Sciences Institute
University of Michigan

February 19, 2015  
David C. Chan, M.D., Ph.D.
HHMI Investigator  
California Institute of Technology

February 13, 2014  
Roel Nusse, Ph.D.
Virginia & Daniel K. Ludwig Professor of Cancer Research  
Professor of Developmental Biology  
HHMI Investigator  
California Institute of Technology  
Institute for Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine  
Stanford University School of Medicine

January 24, 2013  
Eric Wieschaus, Ph.D.
Squibb Professor in Molecular Biology  
Nobel Laureate/HHMI Investigator  
Princeton University

November 3, 2011  
Allan C. Spradling, Ph.D.
Director, Department of Embryology  
HHMI Investigator  
Carnegie Institution of Washington

Zena Werb, PhD 2010

Denise J. Montell, PhD 2009

Gail Martin, PhD 2007

Donald Brown, MD  2006

Judith Kimble, PhD 2005

Rudolf Jaenisch, MD 2004

Edward De Robertis, MD/PhD 2003

Igor Dawid, PhD 2002

Sir John Gurdon, PhD 2001

Christopher Wyle, PhD 2000


CARE/Crawley Building