Today is Saturday, Nov. 18, 2017

Department of

Surgery

FAQ’s

1. What is your application deadline?

October 1, 2017 for the 2018 General Surgery Match.

2. What are your criteria for submitting an application?

All ERAS* materials Medical school transcript Medical Student Performance Evaluation (MSPE) USMLE Step I score (Step II required prior to rank list deadline) Personal statement Three letters of recommendation (see question #6 below) *We are registered with the National Rank Match Program (NRMP). All applicant must be registered in the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS®) and the NRMP to apply to our program. For more information, please visit:  http://www.nrmp.org/residency/main-residency-match/ and https://www.aamc.org/students/medstudents/eras/.

3. How many categorical and preliminary spots do you offer?

The General Surgery Residency Training Program at the University of Cincinnati plans to match six categorical residents this year, and no preliminary positions.

4. What is your accreditation status?

Our program has continued full accreditation status

5. What are your minimum USMLE scores?

Our minimum USMLE Step I score requirement is 220; however, a score of 230 or above is desirable. Passage on the first attempt is required.

6. What are your requirements for letters of recommendation?

The Dean’s letter and three additional letters of recommendation, one from the Chairman of the Department of Surgery, are required.

7. What are your interview dates?

Tuesday, October 17/Wednesday, October 18, 2017 
Tuesday, October 31/Wednesday, November 1, 2017 
Tuesday, November 14/Wednesday, November 15, 2017 
Tuesday, November 28/Wednesday, November 29, 2017 
Tuesday, December 12/Wednesday, December 13, 2017 
If needed, Tuesday, January 9/Wednesday, January 10, 2018

8. Is the reception the night before the interview mandatory?

Yes. It is important that you have ample opportunity to learn about our program and the city of Cincinnati from our residents themselves. The interview process begins on Tuesday evening with an informal dinner reception held at Moerlein Lager House (http://www.moerleinlagerhouse.com). Transportation will be provided for you. This is an important part of our interview process and is considered a mandatory part of your visit. Dress is casual.

9. Do you accept applications from international medical graduates?

All applications are considered on an individual basis. No previous U.S. experience is required. ECFMG certification is not required at the time of application, but is required prior to the Match.