Today is Monday, Sep. 24, 2018

Department of

Pharmacology & Systems Physiology 

Ohio Physiological Society

33rd Annual Meeting
September 28–29, 2018
University of Cincinnati


The University of Cincinnati will host the 33rd annual meeting of the Ohio Physiological Society (OPS), September 28–29. The OPS meeting is the foremost regional forum for research in physiology, systems biology, and pharmacology, and the translational research stemming from these disciplines. OPS provides an excellent opportunity for undergraduate students, graduate students, and other trainees to present their work at a vibrant regional meeting. 

Mark Sussman portraitOPS2018 Keynote Speaker

Mark A Sussman, PhD

San Diego State University

Myocardial regeneration: Uncommon sense for common problems


The OPS2018 Keynote Speaker is Mark A Sussman, PhD, distinguished professor of biology at San Diego State University. Dr Sussman's presentation “Myocardial regeneration: Uncommon sense for common problems” will focus on the biological limitations to myocardial repair in the adult heart, and to the next-generation approaches to overcoming those limitations, ultimately translating into novel clinical treatments achieving desperately needed treatment of heart failure.


The meeting begins Friday afternoon at 4:00 pm with the keynote address, followed by a reception and dinner. Saturday's program begins at 9:00 am and features selected oral presentations, two poster sessions, and a student data blitz. The program ends with a brief business meeting and awards ceremony at 4:30 pm.

Download the OPS2018 Program (PDF).

Abstracts  |  Oral Presentations  |  Posters

Poster presentationAbstract submission is now closed (the extended deadline was Friday, September 14, 2018). Please note that abstracts will appear in the OPS2018 program and abstract book; however, abstracts will not be published.

OPS2018 received 109 abstract submissions, of which 9 were selected for oral presentation and 100 for poster presentation. Download the OPS2018 Program (PDF).

Poster boards will accommodate posters up to 7' wide by 4' deep (2.1 × 1.2 m); however, 5' × 3' (1.5 × 0.9 m) may be optimal. You may hang your poster during registration/check-in on Friday afternoon or Saturday morning and take it down at the conclusion of the event.

For more information, please email



Register Now

Early-bird registration ends September 24. The registration fee schedule is as follows:

Registration Category Early Bird
(By September 24)
After September 24
Faculty | Research Scientist/Assistant | Postdoctoral Fellow $75 $125
Student (Graduate/Undergraduate/High School) Free $10
Guest Banquet Ticket $50 $50


  • Giving to OPS | To make a gift to the Ohio Physiological Society, please contact the OPS Treasurer, Dan Halm, PhD (Email).
  • OPS Annual Dues | Annual dues are included in the registration fee. If you will not attend the OPS2018 meeting and would like to pay your annual dues ($25), please contact the OPS Treasurer, Dan Halm, PhD (Email).


Meeting Location

OPS2018 will take place on the medical campus of the University of Cincinnati. View the Meeting Location/Housing Map.

  • Registration/Check-in | Atrium, CARE/Crawley Building, 3230 Eden Avenue
  • Keynote Address | Room E351, Medical Sciences Building (contiguous with CARE/Crawley)
  • Posters | CARE/Crawley Atrium and MSB E-Level
  • Platform Sessions (Saturday) | Kowalewski Hall, 3255 Eden Avenue


Housing Information

View the Meeting Location/Housing Map. Suggested hotels near the meeting location:


Local Organizing Committee

Laura Conforti, PhD
A Scott Emmert (Undergraduate Student Representative)
Bryan Mackenzie, PhD
T Alex Ruwe, BS (Graduate Student Representative)
Sakthivel Sadayappan, PhD MBA
Jo El Schultz, PhD
Roger T Worrell, PhD
Yana Zavros, PhD

OPS Officers

President  Bryan Mackenzie, PhD (University of Cincinnati)
Treasurer  Dan R Halm, PhD (Wright State University)
President Emeritus  J Gary Meszaros, PhD (Northeast Ohio Medical University)
President Elect  Vacant
Founding President & Sage  Peter K Lauf, MD (Wright State University)