Today is Monday, Jun. 26, 2017

Department of


Frank H. Mayfield Society

The Frank H. Mayfield Society, named in honor of Frank H. Mayfield, MD, was established in 1989 to promote continuing neurosurgical education of physicians, residents and fellows.

The objective of the society is to accomplish these goals by fostering camaraderie between alumni of the UC training program, as well as others who have contributed to continuing excellence within the program. Alumni gather yearly for the graduation ceremonies in May and at other events throughout the year.

Annual Mayfield Neuroscience Symposium

The Mayfield Society meets each year in early summer. At the meeting, which is held in conjunction with the Mayfield Neuroscience Symposium, new officers are elected, new members are accepted and other society business is conducted. An annual banquet follows the meeting and includes graduation ceremonies for residents and fellows. The scientific program includes an invited Alumnus Lecturer.

In June 2016, the Mayfield Lecturer was James Rutka, MD and the Alumnus Lecturer was Daniel Scodary, MD. View their lectures

Each year the Society selects the Mayfield Lecturer and recognizes one neurosurgeon with the Joseph Evans Award in Neurosurgery for clinical excellence and community service. Additionally, the Ellen and Stewart Dunsker, MD, Award and the John M. Tew Award are presented to a resident for an exceptional clinical research project.


Mayfield Society Officers

President: Arthur G. Arand, MD
Vice President: Robert J. Bohinski, MD, PhD
Secretary-Treasurer: Christopher M. McPherson, MD


Graduates & Alumni 

1949   Curwood Hunter, MD
1952   Frank F. Espey, MD
1953   Ernest J. Penka, MD
1954   Adolph Rosenauer, MD
1954   Bert McBride, MD
1957   James Nichols, Jr., MD
1957   Henry Lattinville, MD
1957   Jack Griffith, MD
1958   Murray Day, MD
1960   Forest Tutor, MD
1960   Richard Newquist, MD
1960   Robert Hayner, MD
1961   Richard Budde, MD
1962   Eugene Elam, MD
1963   James Maurer, MD
1964   Fred Helmer, MD
1964   Lowell Ford, MD
1965   James Sheridan, MD
1966   H. Paul Lewis, MD
1967   Tom Krueger, MD
1968   Mark O'Brien, MD
1968   Martin Johnson, MD
1970   Raul Vernal, MD
1970   Robert Taylor, MD
1970   Rafael M. Ramirez, MD*
1971   John Savoy, MD
1971   Dean Moore, MD*
1972   Albert Timperman, MD
1973   Thomas Berger, MD
1973   Danny Dodson, MD*
1974   Hira Khanna, MD
1974   Alejandro Sos, MD*
1975   Jorge L. Davila, MD*
1976   Michael Walus, MD
1977   Phillip Minella, MD
1977   Set Shababian, MD*
1978   Harold Segal, MD
1978   Carlos M. Ongkiko, Jr., MD*
1979   Thomas G. Saul, MD*
1980   Antonio Ong, MD*
1981   Steven Wald, MD
1981   Raymond Sawaya, MD
1981   Michael Kramer, MD*
1982   Victor Sonnino, MD
1982   William Sprick, MD
1984   Edmund Frank, MD
1985   Antoine Jabre, MD
1985   William Tobler, MD
1985   Harry van Loveren, MD
1986   John Johnson, MD
1987   John Heiss, MD
1988   Stephen Calderon, MD
1988   Alessandro Olivi, MD
1988   Geoffrey Thomas, MD
1989   Lawrence Foody, MD
1989   Mark Greenberg, MD
1989   Cynthia Norrgran, MD
1990   Martin Buckingham, MD
1990   Stuart Weil, MD
1991   Bradley Mullen, MD
1991   Daniel Scodary, MD
1992   Arthur Arand, MD
1992   James Fick, MD
1993   Christopher Miller, MD
1994   Troy Payner, MD
1994   Michael Stanley, MD
1995   Wayne Villanueva, MD
1995   Bradbury Skidmore, MD
1996   Ajay Bindal, MD
1996   Adam Lewis, MD
1996   Jamal Taha, MD
1997   Glenn Keiper, MD
1997   Jeffrey Larson, MD
1998   David Gruber, MD
1999   Andrew Kokkino, MD
1999   Tom Manski, MD
1999   Andrew Ringer, MD
2000   Christoper Kager, MD
2001   Jonathan Sherman, MD
2001   Ioannis Fouyas, MD
2002   Robert Bohinski, MD, PhD
2002   Paul L. Cohen, MD
2003   Elias Dagnew, MD
2003   Benjamin Ling, MD
2004   P. Colby Maher, MD
2004   Christopher McPherson, MD
2005   Borimir J. Darakchiev, MD
2006   Khaled M. Abdel Aziz, MD, PhD
2006   Chad J. Morgan, MD
2006   David D. Yeh, MD
2007   Nicholas B. Levine, MD
2007   Michael J. Petr, MD
2008   Samir Parikh, MD
2009   Bradford Curt, MD
2009   Andrew Grande, MD
2010   Ellen L. Air, MD, PhD
2010   Marcella A. Madera, MD
2011   Ondrej Choutka, MD
2011   Andrew J. Losiniecki, MD
2011   Dean A. Hertzler, Jr., MD 
2012   Daniel Barnes Webb, MD 
2012   John DePowell, MD
2013   Chad W. Farley, MD
2013   Joseph C. Serrone, MD
2014   Vincent DiNapoli, MD, PhD
2014   Lauren Ostling, MD
2014   Christopher Sanders Taylor, MD
2015   Ben Bixenman, MD
2015   Cyrus King, MD
2015   Mark Magner, MD
2016   Daniel M. Harwell, MD
2016   Ryan D. Tackla, MD
2016   Jonathan D. York, MD

For more information about the Mayfield Society:

Christa McAlpin