Today is Sunday, Aug. 19, 2018

Department of


John M. Tew, Jr., MD Chair in Neurosurgical Oncology

The Department of Neurosurgery announced the funding of the John M. Tew, Jr., MD, Chair in Neurosurgical Oncology, a $2 million endowment at the UC College of Medicine, on March 13, 2013.

Dr. Tew, Professor of Neurosurgery, Radiology, and Surgery at UC and Clinical Director of the UC Neuroscience Institute, served as Chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery for 20 years before co-founding and taking the helm of the Institute in 1998. Dr. Tew has been a neurosurgical pioneer in the areas of microsurgery, lasers, image-guided surgery, and trigeminal neuralgia.

The Tew Chair in Neurosurgical Oncology represents the second completed chair in the Department of Neurosurgery and the first since the establishment of the Frank H. Mayfield Chair for Neurological Surgery in 1993.

Dr. Tew graduated from Wake Forest University in 1957 and the Wake Forest School of Medicine in 1961. He performed his neurosurgical residency at the Harvard University-affiliated Massachusetts General Hospital and Boston Children’s Hospital. In 1969, as the recipient of the prestigious Van Wagenen Fellowship, he trained under Gazi Yasargil, MD, the founder of micro-neurosurgery, at the University of Zurich.

He is co-chairman of the Acoustic Neuroma Association’s Medical Advisory Board, a member of the Hemifacial Spasm Association’s Medical Advisory Board, and a member of the UC Brain Tumor Center’s community advisory council. He has published more than 200 papers and 75 book chapters, has co-authored four books, including the Atlas of Operative Microneurosurgery, has trained more than 60 neurosurgeons, and has held more than 60 visiting professorships in the United States and around the world.

Mario Zuccarello, MD, Professor and Chairman of the Department and the Frank H. Mayfield Chair, announced the appointment of Ronald Warnick, MD, Professor of Neurosurgery and Radiation Oncology, as the inaugural Tew Chair. Dr. Warnick, a Mayfield neurosurgeon and Medical Director of the Brain Tumor Center at the UC Neuroscience Institute, specializes in the treatment of primary malignant brain tumors (brain cancer) and brain metastasis.

“Endowed chairs are a core pillar in the success of academic institutions like UC,” Dr. Zuccarello says. “They bestow prestige upon leading clinician-researchers, facilitate recruitments, help lay the foundation for future research and solidify relationships with the community through the promise of healthcare discoveries. They also provide steady income for ongoing research during the inevitable ebbs and flows of federal support.”

Dr. Tew says the chair is a testament to the community’s support for the university and its mission to treat patients, educate future doctors and discover new treatments. “The chair will help ensure our success in treating and understanding malignant brain tumors for years to come.”

“To be named the Tew Chair was the greatest honor of my career,” Dr. Warnick said. “Thousands of individuals have been touched by the care John Tew has provided and the neurosurgical advances he has led. From Dr. Tew, my most valued mentor, I have learned to relentlessly pursue the right course, no matter how improbable it may seem at the start. I have also learned that the most important job of a brain tumor physician is to provide hope.”

Dr. Warnick served as the Tew Chair holder until August 31, 2017.

Planning is underway for the selection of the next distinguished Tew Chair recipient.


CARE/Crawley atrium

More Information

University of Cincinnati
Department of Neurosurgery

Office Location:
Medical Science Building
231 Albert Sabin Way
P. O. Box 670515
Cincinnati, OH  45257-0515
(513) 558-5387